4 Levels of Prevention of Disease

Levels of Prevention of Disease

Levels of Prevention of Disease is Primordial Prevention /Early stage Prevention, Primary Level of Prevention /Essential Level of Prevention,Tertiary Level of Prevention.The Goal of medication is to advance wellbeing, positive wellbeing, to reestablish wellbeing when it is impeded and to limit enduring and trouble. These objectives are typified in “Prevention”. Fruitful prevention relies on the information on causation, elements of transmission, recognizable proof of hazard factors and hazard gatherings, early recognition and treatment measures.

In present day, the idea has gotten wide based and incorporates four levels of prevention:

See Also : Scope in Nursing Profession

Primordial Prevention /Early stage Prevention

Primordial Prevention /Early stage Prevention is first levels Prevention of Disease of This is another idea and is accepting unique consideration in the prevention of incessant diseases. This is essential prevention in its most flawless sense, for example prevention of the rise or improvement of hazard factors in nations or populace bunches in which they have not yet showed up.

For instance, numerous grown-up medical issues like heftiness, hypertension have their initial root in youth. In early stage prevention endeavors are dedicated towards debilitating youngsters from receiving unsafe ways of life like smoking, liquor utilization, absence of activity and unfortunate eating design, physical exercise.

Primary Level of Prevention /Essential Level of Prevention

It alludes to measures attempted during prepathogenesis stage with the goal that man stays sound and contain (a) Health advancement and (b) Specific assurance.

  • Health advancement incorporates factors like adjusted eating routine, spotless and safe condition to live, empowering way of life and sufficient utilization of assets.
  • Explicit security alludes to explicit measures attempted to forestall disease and injury, for example, convenient inoculation, wearing ear plugs, protective caps, gloves and so on

Secondary Level of Prevention /Auxiliary Level of Prevention

In this Levels of Prevention of Disease are the measures taken during pathogenesis stage to control the advancement or spread of disease. It incorporates early recognizable proof of cases and their contacts, giving them sufficient and complete treatment alongside development. These measures help to help in recuperation, forestall entanglements, forestall additionally spread of disease and event of new cases.

Tertiary Level of Prevention

The point here is to end the advancement of disease to restrain/forestall inability event and furthermore to help the person to adapt to the body/framework saves in order to lead a socially and monetarily beneficial life. This is known as recovery and can be of physical, professional and psychosocial nature with the goal that the individual is balanced to self, occupation and society.

Disability Limitations /Handicap Limitations

At the point when the patient reports late in the pathogenesis stage, the method of prevention is handicap impediment. The goal is to forestall/stop the change of the disease procedure from debilitation to impede

Disease → Impairment → Disability → Handicap.

Please note that this article is for informational purposes only and should not substitute professional medical advice.

Name -Parika Parika holds a Master's in Nursing and is pursuing a Ph.D. in Nursing. In addition to her clinical experience, Parika has also served as a nursing instructor for the past 10 years, she enjoys sharing her knowledge and passion for the nursing profession.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share this

Recent articles


More like this